Science is way cooler than any textbook can explain

University of Alberta

My blog posts are scarce, I know!

Here’s a little bit of news: I’ve decided to attend the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada to continue on for my PhD!

 

 

 

 

First impression…. even before I landed……. DANG IT’S COLD! The captain came on the announcer and informed us it was currently -20F…. I literally don’t know what that meant until I got off the plane!

The view of the frozen tundra that is Alberta

One of the many snow covered parks on the Medical Campus. Stunning

I visited the campus in mid-February, and met some of the people I’d be working with; namely, my future adviser, Dr. Michael Stickland- a well known and up-and-coming PI in exercise and gas exchange. His primary responsibility is to the Pulmonary Research Group, in the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry. Dr Stickland showed me around the University and I was quite impressed with the extent of the laboratory space, and most of all the collaborative efforts between clinicians and academic research staff.

The newly built Edmonton Clinic, a beautiful building, isn't it? http://www.edmontonclinic.ca/

Alberta is known for their oil, their beef, and beer! Interestingly, the Northern Oil Sands are the second largest oil reserves in the world, after Saudi Arabia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athabasca_oil_sands Unfortunately, you can’t just stick a pipe in the ground and wait for oil to come out, the oil sands require extensive and expensive extraction techniques. Now that oil is well over $100 a barrel, the need for oil has really afforded the province of Alberta a great wealth of revenue! The Alberta Heritage Trust affords research and educational funding coming from the revenue from the oil production up North. The result is a trickle down effect that benefits everyone.

Downtown Edmonton, a great view from my hotel room. Lit up, just on the edge of the river vally is the Capital.

Some more details about my future at University of Alberta: I’ve been offered full tuition and a nice stipend, in return for student teaching and work as a graduate research associate for Dr. Stickland. I will technically be a PhD student in the Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation. My work will be in pulmonary physiology, studying exercise and gas exchange. I hope to be able to bring in my previous work in exercise physiology here at SDSU and UCSD and make significant contributions to the field!

The Butterdome, Home of the UofA Golden Bears and Pandas!

Until next time…

Vince

Corbett Hall, one of the many Clinical Research Facilities on Campus

The University of Alberta Hospital

3 responses

  1. easylifestyles

    Great post thanks for sharing. Traveling is a hobby of mine that I truly enjoy.

    Very Useful Vacation Travel Tips

    March 28, 2011 at 9:19 am

  2. Pingback: Freedom Part 1 « Looking Forward

  3. Sam

    a very nice blog with high quality pictures. I have admitted to the CS department. Please write more about campus.

    May 20, 2011 at 11:31 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.